Posted by: Jeff | July 21, 2010

A Right Role Model

Never thought I would dedicate a post to this subject, but it must be said that Sen. Lindsay Graham is a true role model for Senators on both sides of the aisle.  In casting a vote in support of the nomination of Elena Kagan to the Supreme Court, Graham had this to say:

No one spent more time trying to beat President Obama than I did, except Sen. McCain.  I missed my own election — I voted absentee. But I understood we lost. President Obama won. I’ve got a lot of opportunity to disagree, but the Constitution, in my view, puts an obligation on me not to replace my judgment for his, not to think of the hundred reasons I would pick someone different. … I view my duty as to protect the Judiciary and to ensure that hard-fought elections have meaning in our system.

There will be a time when I disagree.  It should be the exception, not the rule […] I’m going to vote for her because I believe this election has consequences. And this president chose someone who is qualified to serve on this court and understands the difference between being a liberal judge and a politician. At the end of the day, it wasn’t a hard decision … She would not have been someone I would have chosen, but the person who did choose, President Obama, chose wisely.

Putting aside partisan differences to govern is incredibly refreshing, which in and of itself is a bit saddening.  It’s important to note that Graham bucked his party’s platform of opposing everything and anything put forth by the Obama Administration in favor of carefully approaching the core question of governing – which decision is most in line with the desire and wishes of the American people?

Kudos to you, Senator Graham.  May more Republicans and Democrats alike approach issues like you do.  Now how about we move on to that Energy Bill?

Leave a Reply

Categories

