Posted by: Jeff | December 2, 2009

First Five Albums

During a conversation this morning with a friend, we discussed our first five album purchases.  Now, this does perhaps reveal a great deal about age, but it’s kind of hilarious looking back.

My first five:

  1. Hootie and the Blowfish – Cracked Rear View (song)
  2. Weezer – The Blue Album (song)
  3. Ace of Base – The Sign (song)
  4. Alanis Morrisette – Jagged Little Pill (song)
  5. No Doubt – Tragic Kingdom (song)

I’m not at all sure of the order, so it may well be that The Real McCoy’s Another Night (song) and The Cranberries’ Everybody Else Is Doing It So Why Can’t We (song) were somewhere in the mix too.

Man, I had great taste.

Thinking back, what were your first record purchases?

Responses

  1. You forgot those Weird Al albums, not to mention the concert.

  2. Are you counting tapes, or are these your first cds? I don’t know about tapes, but I believe the following were my first cds:

    1. Des’ree – I Ain’t Movin’
    2. The Pocahontas Soundtrack
    3. Mariah Carey- Music Box/Mariah Carey/Merry Christmas (same gift)
    4. Whitney Houston- Whitney
    5. RHCP- One Hot Minute

    Honorable mention goes to Jock Jams I, bought with the same gift certificate as the RHCP album.

    • Yes, I was mostly just referring to cd’s. As my mother so lovingly pointed out (thanks, mom), I had a whole number of Weird Al cassettes at some point, and also enjoyed his live show as my first concert experience. As bad as that might be, it was concert #2 that is the true reason no such “first concerts” list will ever appear on this site. I’m lucky I ever recovered.


Leave a Reply

Categories

