Posted by: Jeff | November 26, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving

Image from the always funny nataliedee.com

Like Columbus Day before it, this is a rather sterilized holiday commemorating an embarrassing period of our history.  That said, I think we can all appreciate the opportunity to eat good food and pause to remember the various blessings in our lives.  I am thankful:

  • For amazing friends.  And for amazing surprises.
  • For parents that have always been supportive of my awkward and continuing transition to independence.
  • For my sister, who next Thanksgiving will be a college graduate.
  • For secure employment in a tough time.
  • For co-workers I consider close friends (see above).
  • For the ever-nearer end of the semester, which is also the long-awaited end to my (current) degree program.
  • For laughter, and the things and people that make me laugh (most recently: http://obama-weather.com/)
  • For the ability to type in two voices by using parentheses (like this).
  • For specialty holiday beers.  Is it just me, or are they always better than the regular brand?
  • For a President I may not always agree with on policy or practice, but will always believe is trying to make the world a better place.
  • For Netflix – what a brilliant idea.
  • For literature, and my return to it in December.
  • For Google Reader, which changed my life just this week (see my RSS feed on top right).
  • For Al Gore, creator of the internet – a series of tubes where boredom is absolved and an insatiable appetite to read inane opinion blogs is satisfied.  Also the place where funny is shared (see above).
  • For mixed tapes, a lost art that needs to be brought back just like sexy was (Thanks Justin).
  • For rooftop patios and decks at restaurants and/or bars.
  • For The Avalon, a theater I don’t frequent nearly enough any more.
  • But most of all, for the chance to say thank you to my friends, family, and loved ones.  You’re the best.

Responses

  1. Hey everybody, it is Thanksgiving Day! I’m happy with my extra day off, and I am planning to doing something fun that will probably involve a moto trip and seeing something new in Cheyenne I haven’t seen yet.
    You write something new at Thanksgiving?


Leave a Reply

Categories

